Cheshire East Council – North Cheshire Business Awards

Cheshire East Council

Cheshire East Council was formed on the 1st of April 2009 from the former authorities of Congleton Borough Council, Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council, Macclesfield Borough Council and Cheshire County Council and has 82 Councillors representing 52 wards. Cheshire East is the third largest unitary authority in the North West next to Manchester and Liverpool with a population of around 360,800 residents; covers an area of 1,116km2.; has a net budget in 2010/11 of £214 million; employs approximately 10,000 staff and is home to the towns of Alsager; Congleton; Crewe; Knutsford; Macclesfield; Middlewich; Nantwich; Poynton; Sandbach and Wilmslow.